Lars von Trier muß, als er sich »Dogville« ausgedacht hat, Lotte Lenya (beziehungsweise Brecht und Weill) im Ohr gehabt haben:

Und an diesem Mittag wird es still sein am Hafen Wenn man fragt, wer wohl sterben muß. Und dann werden Sie mich sagen hören: Alle! Und wenn dann der Kopf fällt, sage ich: Hoppla!
Und als Fußnote mag man anmerken, daß Nina Simones Interpretation des Liedes als Beispiel dafür gelten kann, wie eine Änderung des sprachlichen und historischen Kontexts ganz ungeahnte Effekte für die Bedeutung der Worte haben kann:
You people can watch while I'm scrubbing these floors And I'm scrubbin' the floors while you're gawking Maybe once ya tip me and it makes ya feel swell In this crummy southern town In this crummy old hotel But you'll never guess to who you're talkin'. No. you couldn't ever guess to who you're talkin'.

Then one night theres a scream in the night And you'll wonder who could that have been And you see me kinda grinnin' while Im scrubbin' And you say, whats she got to grin? I'll tell you.

Theres a ship The black freighter With a skull on its masthead Will be coming in

[...]

By noontime the dock Is a-swarmin' with men Comin out from the ghostly freighter They move in the shadows Where no one can see And they're chainin' up people And they're bringin' 'em to me Askin' me, Kill them now, or later? Askin' me! Kill them now, or later?

Noon by the clock And so still by the dock You can hear a foghorn miles away And in that quiet of death I'll say, right now. Right now!

Then they'll pile up the bodies And I'll say, That'll learn ya!

And the ship The black freighter Disappears out to sea And On It Is Me

[ kürzer kommt besser, glaube ich ]


::: music

::: link